Friday, September 02, 2011

The Survivor by Shelley Shepard Gray

This week, the

Christian Fiction Blog Alliance

is introducing

The Survivor

Avon Inspire; Original edition (August 30, 2011)


Shelley Shepard Gray


Shelley Shepard Gray is the beloved author of the Sisters of the Heart series, including Hidden, Wanted, and Forgiven. Before writing, she was a teacher in both Texas and Colorado. She now writes full time and lives in southern Ohio with her husband and two children. When not writing, Shelley volunteers at church, reads, and enjoys walking her miniature dachshund on her town's scenic bike trail.

Check out Shelley's Facebook Fan page


One of today’s most beloved authors of inspirational Christian fiction, Shelley Shepard Gray completes her acclaimed Families of Honor series with The Survivor—a poignant and beautiful story of love and faith in a small Amish community. Delving once more into the lives of these devout and fascinating folk, as she did in her popular Sisters of the Heart and Seasons of Sugarcreek novels, Gray tells the story of a young Amish woman who has survived the ravages of cancer, but now longs for the love of the one man who can heal her lonely heart. Like Beverly Lewis, Wanda Brunstetter, and Cindy Woodsmall, Shelley Shepard Gray introduces readers to characters they will never forget as she masterfully depicts a world of simple living, abiding faith, and honest emotions.

If you would like to read the first chapter excerpt of The Survivor, go HERE.

My Thoughts:

Shelley Shepard Gray has been my favorite author of Amish fiction since I read the first book in her Sugarcreek series and this held true with this book. The characters are real and loveable (even when they aren't on their best behavior) and the story just draws you in.

I have to confess that this is the first of the Families of Honor series that I've read. That didn't get in the way of me enjoying this book at all, though. But now I have to go get the others and read them!

No comments: