Friday, June 11, 2010

Life in Defiance by Mary DeMuth

The Book:

In a town she personifies, Ouisie Pepper wrestles with her own defiance. Desperate to become the wife and mother her husband Hap demands, Ouisie pours over a simple book about womanhood, constantly falling short, but determined to improve.

Through all that self-improvement, Ouisie carries a terrible secret: she knows who killed Daisy Chance. As her children inch closer to uncovering the killer’s identity and Hap’s rages roar louder and become increasingly violent, Ouisie has to make a decision. Will she protect her children by telling her secret? Or will Hap’s violence silence them all?

Set on the backdrop of Defiance, Texas, Ouisie’s journey typifies the choices we all face—whether to tell the truth about secrets and fight for the truth or bury them forever and live with the violent consequences.

The Author:

Author and speaker Mary DeMuth helps people turn their trials to triumph. Her books include Ordinary Mom, Extraordinary God; Building the Christian Family You Never Had; Watching the Tree Limbs; Wishing on Dandelions; Authentic Parenting in a Postmodern Culture and the first two books in the Defiance, Texas Trilogy: Daisy Chain and A Slow Burn.
National media regularly seek Mary’s candid ability to connect with their listeners. Her radio appearances include FamilyLife Today, Moody Midday Connection, Point of View and U.S.A. Radio Network and is frequently featured on Chuck Colson’s BreakPoint. She has published articles in In Touch, HomeLife, Writer’s Digest and The Writer.
Mary lives with her husband Patrick and their three children in Texas.

Learn more about Mary at
My Review:
(I just have to tell you right up front that I think Mary DeMuth is, by far, one of the best Christian Fiction authors on the market today. I love everything that I've read that she's written, including this book.)
In this, the final book in the Defiance Texas Trilogy, Mary DeMuth opens a window into the life of Ouisie Pepper, a housewife who is trying to improve herself in the hopes of changing her abusive husband's ways. Ouisie is convinced that if she just tries hard enough she can be the perfect mother and perfect wife. But it seems like no matter what she does she just can't seem to reach that unattainable point of perfection that she's striving for.
Not only do we get to see into Ouisie's life with this book but we get to have the answer we've all been waiting for since Daisy Chain (the first book in the trilogy)! We finally find out who killed Daisy Chance!
If you haven't read the first two books in this series, Daisy Chain and Slow Burn, then please do so. This is a series that you don't want to miss!
Thanks to Zondervan for providing me with a copy of this book for review.
To buy a copy of this book GO HERE.
To visit more blogs on this tour GO HERE.

No comments: